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LAID ON THE TABLE

SB 305-FN, relative to allowing wholesalers of cigarettes to retain tax revenue collected for each package
of cigarettes with tax stamps sold.02/08/2024, Pending Motion Ought to Pass, Ways and Means, SJ 3

SB 307-FN, relative to electric transmission service agreements.04/05/2024, Pending Motion OT3rdg,
Finance, SJ 8

SB 335-FN, relative to alcohol packaging.03/21/2024, Pending Motion Ought to Pass, Commerce, SJ 7
SB 342-FN, relative to school building aid funding.04/05/2024, Pending Motion OT3rdg, Finance, SJ 8

SB 343, relative to school based health services.01/18/2024, Pending Motion Interim Study, Education, SJ 2
SB 346-FN, prohibiting the use of dogs while hunting coyotes.02/15/2024, Pending Motion Inexpedient
to Legislate, Energy and Natural Resources, SJ 4

SB 452-FN-A, relative to making an appropriation for the hiring and training of small business development
counselors in rural areas of New Hampshire.02/21/2024, Pending Motion Interim Study, Finance, SJ 5
SB 483-FN, relative to establishing an office of regulatory efficiency and oversight.02/21/2024, Pending
Motion Interim Study, Executive Departments and Administration, SJ 5

SB 484-FN, relative to completion of the birth worksheet for hospital or institutional birth.02/21/2024, Pend-
ing Motion Ought to Pass, Executive Departments and Administration, SJ 5

SB 512-FN, relative to the 10-year highway plan.03/07/2024, Pending Motion Interim Study, Transpor-
tation, SJ 6

SB 516-FN, relative to prohibiting collective bargaining agreements that require employees to join a labor
union.04/05/2024, Pending Motion Ought to Pass, Commerce, SJ 8

SB 519-FN, relative to evictions based on the owner’s intent to renovate the property.04/05/2024, Pending
Motion Ought to Pass, Commerce, SJ 8

SB 522-FN-A, relative to establishing an early childhood education scholarship account and making an ap-
propriation therefor.04/05/2024, Pending Motion OT3rdg, Finance, SJ 8

SB 565-FN, relative to discrimination in education and employment based on hairstyles historically associ-
ated with race.03/07/2024, Pending Motion OT3rdg, Judiciary, SJ 6

HB 307-FN, relative to attorney’s fees in actions under the right to know law.02/15/2024, Pending Motion
Interim Study, Finance, SJ 4

HB 572-FN, relative to eligibility for free school meals.01/03/2024, Pending Motion Refer to Finance
Rule 4-5, Education, SJ 1

CONSENT CALENDAR REPORTS

HEALTH AND HUMAN SERVICES

HB 322, relative to establishing a committee to study the New Hampshire board of medicine.

Ought to Pass with Amendment, Vote 5-0.

Senator Birdsell for the committee.
HB 322 establishes a committee to study the New Hampshire Board of Medicine. The Committee heard
testimony that there are significant questions about the practices and operation of the Board, and the
resulting impact on the safety of New Hampshire residents. A study committee will provide a venue for


https://youtube.com/live/9YpOVuBITnM?feature=share

discussions on those issues. The Committee adopted a non-germane amendment to the bill, which will
appropriate $750,000 to the Department of Health and Human Services for the purposes of supporting
a long-term care facility which has recently come under new ownership after several years of neglect by
corporate ownership. It is vital to support this facility, as they have been asked to ramp up capacity in a
critical segment of our health care sector.

REGULAR CALENDAR REPORTS

COMMERCE

SB 328-FN, relative to deceptive ticket sale practices.
Ought to Pass with Amendment, Vote 5-0.

Senator Chandley for the committee.

ELECTION LAW AND MUNICIPAL AFFAIRS
SB 448-FN, relative to the Woodsville fire district.
Ought to Pass with Amendment, Vote 5-0.

Senator Gray for the committee.

EXECUTIVE DEPARTMENTS AND ADMINISTRATION

SB 373, relative to the state building code.

Ought to Pass with Amendment, Vote 5-0.

Senator Carson for the committee.

SB 481, relative to establishing Juneteenth, June 19, as an annual holiday.
Ought to Pass, Vote 4-1.

Senator Perkins Kwoka for the committee.

FINANCE

SB 134-FN, relative to disability pensions for public safety employees who are victims of violence.
Ought to Pass with Amendment, Vote 7-0.

Senator Birdsell for the committee.

SB 309-FN, relative to the vesting period for members of the state retirement system.
Interim Study, Vote 5-2.

Senator Gray for the committee.

SB 354-FN, relative to insurance cost-sharing calculations.

Ought to Pass, Vote 7-0.

Senator Innis for the committee.

SB 392-FN-A, relative to lead paint hazard remediation.

Ought to Pass, Vote 7-0.

Senator Rosenwald for the committee.

SB 394-FN-A, relative to the cyanobacteria mitigation loan and grant fund.

Ought to Pass, Vote 7-0.

Senator Birdsell for the committee.

SB 397-FN-A, making an appropriation for OHRV trails.

Ought to Pass, Vote 7-0.

Senator Gray for the committee.

SB 406-FN-A, relative to emergency housing assistance and making an appropriation therefor.
Ought to Pass with Amendment, Vote 7-0.

Senator D’Allesandro for the committee.

SB 407-FN, relative to direct pay for ambulance services.

Ought to Pass with Amendment, Vote 7-0.

Senator Birdsell for the committee.

SB 410-FN, making appropriations to the department of health and human services to support community
and transitional housing through community mental health centers.

Ought to Pass with Amendment, Vote 7-0.

Senator Gray for the committee.

SB 417-FN, relative to out-of-home placements for children.

Ought to Pass with Amendment, Vote 7-0.

Senator Gray for the committee.



SB 459-FN, relative to the presumption of harm under the child protection act.

Ought to Pass with Amendment, Vote 7-0.

Senator Birdsell for the committee.

SB 462, relative to raising the cap on damages for wrongful death loss of consortium claims.

Ought to Pass, Vote 7-0.

Senator Birdsell for the committee.

SB 463-FN, expanding access to court-appointed counsel for children in dependency proceedings.

Ought to Pass with Amendment, Vote 7-0.

Senator Rosenwald for the committee.

SB 495-FN, relative to certification of alcohol and other drug use treatment facilities.

Ought to Pass with Amendment, Vote 7-0.

Senator Pearl for the committee.

SB 539-FN-A-L, establishing a procedure for the department of environmental services to transfer ownership
of dams to municipalities or others, including making loans.

Ought to Pass with Amendment, Vote 7-0.

Senator Pearl for the committee.

SB 551-FN-A, relative to making an appropriation for rail trail project matching funds.

Ought to Pass, Vote 7-0.

Senator Innis for the committee.

SB 556-FN, relative to coverage of services provided by advanced practice registered nurses.

Ought to Pass, Vote 7-0.

Senator Pearl for the committee.

SB 590-FN-A, making an appropriation to address damage done to the seacoast during January storms.
Interim Study, Vote 6-1.

Senator Gray for the committee.

SB 596-FN, relative to the definition of disability or special needs under the child care scholarship program.
Ought to Pass with Amendment, Vote 7-0.

Senator Rosenwald for the committee.

HEALTH AND HUMAN SERVICES

SB 558-FN, relative to insurance coverage for infertility treatments, protection from discrimination during
IVF treatments, parental leave, and adoption.

Ought to Pass with Amendment, Vote 5-0.

Senator Whitley for the committee.

JUDICIARY

SB 422, changing several references and modifying language in parentage and birth records.
Ought to Pass with Amendment, Vote 5-0.

Senator Carson for the committee.

SB 423, relative to mandatory disclosure of insurance policy limits.

Ought to Pass with Amendment, Vote 3-2.

Senator Abbas for the committee.

SB 461, relative to repealing a construction provision of the fetal life protection act.
Ought to Pass with Amendment, Vote 3-2.

Senator Carson for the committee.

SB 562-FN, relative to state recognition of biological sex.

Ought to Pass, Vote 3-2.

Senator Abbas for the committee.

SB 593, relative to possession of firearms in safe school zones.

Inexpedient to Legislate, Vote 3-2.

Senator Abbas for the committee.

WAYS AND MEANS

SB 586, relative to tax exempt status for the International Order of Odd Fellows.
Interim Study, Vote 4-0.

Senator Rosenwald for the committee.




AMENDMENTS

Senate Finance
April 9, 2024
2024-1467s
05/08

Amendment to SB 134-FN
Amend the bill by replacing all after the enacting clause with the following:

1 New Subparagraphs; Violent Accidental Disability Retirement Allowance. Amend RSA 100-A:6, II by
inserting after subparagraph (d) the following new subparagraphs:

(e)(1) Upon the application of a group II member in service or of the member’s employer, any member
shall be retired by the board of trustees on a violent accidental disability retirement allowance where the
member has been totally and permanently incapacitated for duty as the result of a purposeful, hostile, and
violent attack upon such member in the line of duty. In this section, a “purposeful, hostile, and violent attack”
means a physical attack with a deadly weapon, as defined in RSA 625:11, V, and done with conscious intent
and with such force that it results in the infliction of serious bodily injury, as defined in RSA 625:11, VL.

(2) The provisions of subparagraph (e)(1) shall apply provided that:

(A) The member is found to be mentally or physically incapacitated for the further performance
of duty and that such incapacity is likely to be permanent;

(B) The member did not intend for injury to result from the member’s conduct; and

(C) The incapacitating event has been determined by the commissioner of safety to meet the
criteria of a violent attack under this section and certified to the retirement system on a form approved by
the board of trustees. Solely for the purpose of making this determination and notwithstanding any other
law to the contrary, the commissioner of safety may obtain any records held by any state or municipal official
regarding the circumstances, cause, or manner of violent injury disability. The commissioner of safety may
consult with the labor commissioner and may disclose any information or records obtained in the course of his
or her inquiry. Any records held by the commissioner of safety pursuant to this section shall not be subject
to the right-to-know law, RSA 91-A, and shall not be subject to disclosure in any civil action.

(D) The injury has been found to be compensable by the employer, the employer’s insurance car-
rier, or the commissioner of labor pursuant to RSA 281-A:43.

(3) If the board of trustees is unable to grant violent accidental disability retirement benefits after
review of medical and factual information submitted by the member and by a physician designated by the
board, then the member shall be entitled to a hearing before the board in order to determine whether the
member qualifies for disability retirement benefits. The hearing before the board may be designated to a
presiding officer. The presiding officer designated by the board shall not be the same person who made an
initial disability determination and recommendation to the board based on the medical and factual informa-
tion submitted by the member and physician as stated above.

(f) Upon violent accidental disability retirement, the group II member shall receive a violent accidental
disability retirement allowance equal to the member’s earnable compensation during their last 12 months of
active service at the date of the member’s disability or an annual allowance of $75,000, whichever is greater.

2 Retrospective Application for Benefit. Members who retired under accidental disability on or after July 1,
2018 shall have 90 days from the effective date of this act to file application for violent accidental disability
benefits under section 1 of this act and, if approved, such members’ benefit shall be modified effective to the
date of the application for violent accidental disability retirement benefits.

3 Maximum Benefit Limitation; Reference Added. Amend RSA 100-A:6-a to read as follows:

100-A:6-a Maximum Retirement Benefit. Notwithstanding any other provision of this chapter to the con-
trary, for members who commenced service before July 1, 2009, or have attained vested status prior to Janu-
ary 1, 2012, a member’s initial calculation of the retirement benefit granted under the provisions of RSA
100-A:5 or RSA 100-A:6 shall not exceed 100 percent of the member’s highest year of earnable compensation.
For members who commenced service on or after July 1, 2009, and have not attained vested status prior to



January 1, 2012, a member’s maximum retirement benefit granted under the provisions of RSA 100-A:5 or
RSA 100-A:6 shall not exceed the lesser of 85 percent of the member’s average final compensation or $120,000.
Nothing in this section shall affect the ability of a member to receive disability benefits pursuant to RSA 100-
A:6, II(b) and (c) or RSA 100-A:6, II(e) and (f). This provision shall not limit the application of supplemental
allowances.

4 Disability Retirement Benefits. Amend RSA 100-A:6, III(b)(4) to read as follows:

(4) The provisions of subparagraph (b)(1) shall not apply to a group II accidental disability benefi-
ciary whose total of years of service as a member in group II plus years of accidental disability retirement
is at least 20 years, as determined by the board, and who has attained the age of 45, or a group II violent
accidental disability beneficiary, regardless of age or years of service. Any such accidental disability
or violent accidental disability beneficiary shall receive retirement allowance benefits under this section
without reduction for gainful occupation.

5 Benefits Upon Member’s Death After Retirement - Group II Members. Amend RSA 100-A:12, II to read
as follows:

I1. Upon the death of a group II member who has retired on or after April 1, 1987, or upon the death of
a group II member who has filed an application for retirement benefits with the board of trustees after Janu-
ary 1, 1991, there shall be paid to the person nominated by the member by written designation filed with
the board, if living, otherwise to the retired member’s estate, in addition to the amount payable under RSA
100-A:11 a lump sum of $3,600 if the member retired before July 1, 1988, and if the member is married on
the date of such member’s retirement, there shall be paid to such surviving spouse an allowance to continue
until the spouse’s death or remarriage equal to 50 percent of the member’s service, ordinary disability, [er]
accidental disability, or violent accidental disability retirement allowance payments. For any person who
is a group II member as of June 30, 1988, and who retires on or after July 1, 1988, the lump sum payment
shall be $10,000. For any person who becomes a member of group II on or after July 1, 1988, and on or prior
to July 1, 1993, the lump sum payment shall be $3,600. It is the intent of the legislature that future group
IT members shall be included only if the total cost of such inclusion can be terminally funded.

6 New Subparagraph; New Hampshire Retirement System; Medical Benefits; Payment by Retirement Sys-
tem; Group II. Amend RSA 100-A:52, I by inserting after subparagraph (g) the following new subparagraph:

(h) Any member retired on a violent accidental disability retirement allowance pursuant to RSA 100-
A:6, Il(e).

7 New Hampshire Retirement System; Medical Benefits; Payment by Retirement System; Group II. Amend
RSA 100-A:52, II to read as follows:

II.(a) For the fiscal year beginning July 1, 2011, the maximum amount payable by the retirement system
under this subdivision on account of each person qualified under paragraph I who is not entitled to Medicare
benefits, shall be $375.56 per month, and on account of each person qualified under paragraph I who is en-
titled to Medicare benefits, shall be $236.84 per month. The rate payable under this paragraph shall not be
increased.

(b) Notwithstanding subparagraph (a), for the fiscal year beginning July 1, 2024, the maxi-
mum amount payable by the retirement system under this subdivision on account of each person
qualified under subparagraph I(h) as result of a violent accidental disability who is not entitled
to Medicare benefits, shall be $1,000 per month, and on account of each person qualified under
subparagraph I(h) who is entitled to Medicare benefits, shall be $630.63 per month. The rate pay-
able under this paragraph shall not be increased.

8 New Hampshire Retirement System; Medical Benefits; Application. Amend RSA 100-A:55, I to read as
follows:

I. The additional benefits provided under RSA 100-A:52 shall apply to persons who are active or retired
members of group II as of June 30, 2000; to persons who prior to July 1, 1988, had completed no less than 20
years of group II creditable service, but who for reasons other than retirement or death ceased to be a group
IT member prior to attaining the age of 45, and who, as of July 1, 1993, are eligible for vested deferred retire-
ment benefits; [and] to persons who are group Il permanent policemen or permanent firemen members on
disability retirement as the natural and proximate result of injuries suffered while in the performance of duty



who become permanent policemen members of group II before July 1, 2005 or permanent firemen members
of group II before July 1, 2005; and to persons who are group II permanent policemen or permanent
firemen members retired under a violent accidental disability. Such additional benefits shall not apply
to other persons who become members of group II after the dates stated in this paragraph, without future
legislation to include them. It is the intent of the legislature that future group II members shall be included
only if the total cost of such inclusion can be terminally funded.

9 Medical Insurance Benefits; Retired Group II Employees. Amend RSA 21-1:30, VII(b) to read as follows:

(b) Dies or retires and is eligible for accidental death, [or] accidental disability, or violent accidental
disability retirement benefits, regardless of the state employee’s age or number of years of creditable service; or

10 Effective Date. This act shall take effect July 1, 2024.

Commerce
February 20, 2024
2024-0792s

08/02

Amendment to SB 328-FN
Amend the bill by replacing all after the enacting clause with the following:

1 New Paragraph; Regulation of Business Practices for Consumer Protection; Acts Unlawful; Unauthorized
Resellers. Amend RSA 358-A:2 by inserting after paragraph XVIII the following new paragraph:

XIX.(a) In this paragraph:

(1) “Resale” means the second or subsequent sale of a ticket. “Resale” includes a sale by any means,
including in person, by telephone, by mail, by e-mail, by facsimile, or through a website or other electronic
means.

(2) “Reseller” means a person engaged in the resale of tickets.

(3) “Secondary ticket exchange” means an electronic marketplace that enables consumers to sell,
purchase, and resell tickets.

(4) “Speculative ticket” means a ticket that is not in the actual or constructive possession of a re-
seller at the time of sale. “Speculative ticket” includes a ticket sold by a reseller that, at the time of resale:

(A) Is not in the physical possession of the reseller;
(B) Is not owned by the reseller; or
(C) Is not under contract to be transferred to the reseller.

(5) “Ticket” means physical, electronic, or other evidence, that grants the possessor of the evidence
license to enter a place of entertainment for one or more events at a specified date and time.

(6) “Ticket Issuer” means a person that, directly or indirectly, issues initial tickets for an enter-
tainment event. “Ticket issuer” includes a musician or musical group, an operator of a venue, a sponsor or a
promoter of an entertainment event, a sports team participating in an entertainment event, a sports league
whose teams are participating in an entertainment event, a theater company, a marketplace operated for
consumers to make an initial purchase of tickets, or an agent of any of the persons listed in this subparagraph.

(b) This paragraph applies only to secondary ticket exchanges, ticket issuers, and re-
sellers. The listing for a ticket and each step of a transaction to purchase a ticket shall:
(1) Clearly and conspicuously disclose the total price of the ticket, including all fees and taxes;

(2) Provide an itemized listing of all charges that comprise the total price of the ticket, including
all fees and taxes; and

(3) Identify the seat number and zone or section of the ticket, to the extent applicable to the seat
and venue.

(c) A reseller shall provide the ticket issuer with the contact information of the resale ticket purchaser
to enable the ticket issuer to notify the resale ticket purchaser of any change in the event circumstances, such
as an event cancellation or rescheduling.



(d) This paragraph shall not apply to a fee that a secondary ticket exchange may charge for the service
of providing a marketplace for the resale of a ticket. Except as provided in this paragraph, the total price at
which a reseller may sell or offer to sell a ticket shall not exceed the total price of the initial ticket, including all
fees and taxes in connection with the initial ticket. If initial tickets were purchased for a series of events, such
as season tickets for a sports team, the total resale price of a ticket for a single event shall not exceed the total
price of a comparable ticket, including all fees and taxes. The fee that a secondary ticket exchange may charge
for the service of providing a marketplace for the resale of a ticket shall not exceed 10 percent of the total price
of the initial ticket. Subject to reasonable restrictions imposed by a ticket issuer, a person shall not prohibit or
restrict the transfer or resale of a ticket that was made available to the general public for purchase.

(e) A reseller shall not sell or offer to sell speculative tickets

(f) A secondary ticket exchange shall not provide a marketplace for the resale of a ticket that violates
this section.

2 Effective Date. This act shall take effect January 1, 2025.

2024-0792s
AMENDED ANALYSIS

This bill regulates secondary ticket exchanges, ticket issuers, and resellers and prohibits speculative
ticket sales.

Senate Executive Departments and Administration
March 27, 2024

2024-1364s

11/05

Amendment to SB 373
Amend the bill by replacing all after the enacting clause with the following:

1 State Building Code Amendment. The state building code review board shall amend the International
Energy Conservation Code 2018, R402.4.1.2 to read as follows:

The building or dwelling unit shall be tested for air leakage. The maximum air leakage rate for any building
or dwelling unit under any compliance path shall not exceed 5.0 air changes per hour or 0.28 cubic feet per
minute (CFM) per square foot [0.0079 m3/(s x m2)] of dwelling unit enclosure area. Testing shall be conducted
in accordance with ANSI/RESNET/ICC 380, ASTM E779 or ASTM E1827 and reported at a pressure of 0.2
inch w.g. (50 Pascals). Notwithstanding any other building code requirements, the air exchange rate shall be
set to no more than 5.

2 Effective Date. This act shall take effect upon its passage.

Senate Finance
April 9, 2024
2024-1465s
05/06

Amendment to SB 406-FN-A
Amend paragraph II as inserted by section 1 of the bill by replacing it with the following:

II. Programs receiving funding under paragraph I shall, to the greatest extent practicable, prioritize
veterans in the distribution of services and shall not knowingly provide services to any person not legally
present in the United States. The department of health and human services shall require recipients of this
funding to submit financial projections covering the term of the contract as well as ongoing financial state-
ments demonstrating organizational financial sustainability.

Senate Finance
April 3, 2024
2024-1422s
05/08

Amendment to SB 407-FN
Amend the bill by replacing all after the enacting clause with the following:



1 Accident and Health Insurance; Individual Policies; Reimbursement for Ambulance Service Providers.
Amend RSA 415:6-q to read as follows:

415:6-q Reimbursement for Ambulance Service Providers.

I. Each insurer that issues or renews any individual policy, plan, or contract of accident or health in-
surance that constitutes health coverage under RSA 420-G:2, IX, and that provides benefits for medically
necessary ambulance services shall re1mburse the ambulance service prov1der d1rectly [ﬁr-by—a—checlrpaya-b}e

coﬁt-ract] An insurer shall provlde retmbursement for ambulanee services at rates negotlated be-
tween the insurer and the provider of such services. In the absence of agreed upon rates, an insurer
shall pay for such services at the rates set by the local government or contracted entity subject to a
public process prior to adoption or readoption, or at the rate of 325 percent of the published rate
for ambulance services established under the Medicare law for the same ambulance service pro-
vided in the same geographic area, or according to the participating ambulance provider’s billed
charges, whichever is the lesser amount. All current rates set by local government and the entities
shall remain in place unless a change is proposed. This section shall apply to unscheduled emer-
gency calls and emergency interfacility transfers. This section shall not apply to policies that do
not include coverage for ambulance services.

II. Nothing in this section shall preclude an insurer from negotiating with and subsequently entering
into a contract with a non-participating ambulance provider that establishes rates of reimbursement for
emergency medical services.

III. In the event of a dispute between a health care provider and an insurance carrier relative
to this process, RSA 420-J:8-e shall apply.

2 Accident and Health Insurance; Group Policies; Reimbursement for Ambulance Service Providers. Amend
RSA 415:18-v to read as follows:

415:18-v Reimbursement for Ambulance Service Providers.

I. Each insurer that issues or renews any policy of group or blanket accident or health insurance that
constitutes health coverage under RSA 420-G:2, IX, and that provides benefits for medically necessary ambu-
lance services shall relmburse the ambulance service prov1der dlrectly [er—byha—eheek—paya-b-le—to—t-he—mﬁrred
s e - . 5 s-of-the poliey—plan—or-eontracet]. An
insurer shall provlde relmbursement for ambulance services at rates negotlated between the insurer
and the provider of such services. In the absence of agreed upon rates, an insurer shall pay for such
services at the rates set by the local government or contracted entity subject to a public process
prior to adoption or readoption, or at the rate of 325 percent of the published rate for ambulance
services established under the Medicare law for the same ambulance service provided in the same
geographic area, or according to the participating ambulance provider’s billed charges, whichever
is the lesser amount. All current rates set by local government and the entities shall remain in
place unless a change is proposed. This section shall apply to unscheduled emergency calls and
emergency interfacility transfers. This section shall not apply to policies that do not include cover-
age for ambulance services.

II. Nothing in this section shall preclude an insurer from negotiating with and subsequently entering
into a contract with a non-participating ambulance provider that establishes rates of reimbursement for
emergency medical services.

I1I. In the event of a dispute between a health care provider and an insurance carrier relative
to this process, RSA 420-J:8-e shall apply.

3 Effective Date. This act shall take effect 60 days after its passage.

Senate Finance
April 9, 2024
2024-1464s
05/06

Amendment to SB 410-FN
Amend the bill by replacing sections 1 and 2 with the following:



10

1 Appropriation; Department of Health and Human Services; Housing Grants.

I. For the fiscal year ending June 30, 2025, the sum of $500,000 is appropriated to the department of
health and human services for the purpose of housing grants. The general fund appropriation under this section
shall be nonlapsing and continually appropriated to the department to support the stabilization and growth of
community and transitional housing through the state’s community mental health centers designated under
administrative rule He-M 425.03. Of this amount, the governor shall determine if any remaining discretionary
funds appropriated in the American Rescue Plan Act of 2021, Public Law 117-2, or any other federal funds
can be used for this purpose and any remainder shall be general funds. The governor is authorized to draw
a warrant for said sum out of any money in the treasury not otherwise appropriated.

II. The department of health and human services shall issue a request for grant applications for the
purpose of awarding housing grants to community mental health centers to retain and create new housing in
the community. Grants may be disbursed for up to $25,000 per bed. The department shall initiate the request
for grant applications and grant disbursement by December 1, 2024. All grant awards made pursuant to this
section shall require the recipient community mental health center to use reasonable best efforts to prioritize
the provision of aid to veterans, as defined in RSA 21:50, who are in need of such aid. All grant awards made
pursuant to this section shall prohibit the recipient community mental health center receiving such grant
from using any such funds to knowingly provide aid to any person not legally present in the United States.

2 Appropriation; Department of Health and Human Services; Community Mental Health Center Supported
Housing Programs. There is hereby appropriated to the department of health and human services the sum
of $500,000 for the fiscal year ending June 30, 2025 for community mental health center supported housing
programs operated by community mental health centers designated under administrative rule He-M 425.03.
The general fund appropriation shall be nonlapsing and continually appropriated to the department to sup-
port for the purpose of covering non-billable services for supported community housing. Of this amount, the
governor shall determine if any remaining discretionary funds appropriated in the American Rescue Plan
Act of 2021, Public Law 117-2, or any other federal funds can be used for this purpose and any remainder
shall be general funds. The governor is authorized to draw a warrant for said sum out of any money in the
treasury not otherwise appropriated.

Senate Finance
April 3, 2024
2024-1421s
05/02

Amendment to SB 417-FN
Amend RSA 169-C:19-e, I-a(g) as inserted by section 3 of the bill by replacing it with the following:

(g) The results of the department’s evidence-based safety assessment of that parent, their
home, and any other adults in the home. A parent’s failure to cooperate with the department’s as-
sessment, or to provide any records necessary to such a determination, shall be weighed as a factor
in the fitness of that parent.

Amend RSA 169-F:7 and 169-F:8 as inserted by section 6 of the bill by replacing them with the following:
169-F:7 Oversight of Children in Care; Department Responsibilities.

I. Any child in a court-ordered placement pursuant to RSA 169-B, RSA 169-C, or RSA 169-D shall be seen
in-person on at least a monthly basis, by their assigned case worker. In the event the assigned case worker
is not available, another case worker or supervisor familiar with the child and/or case may perform the visit.
The visit to the child shall include a private meeting with the child, in a safe place as determined by the case
worker and child, to inquire about care received, as well as an in-person tour of the child’s living quarters.
The monthly contact shall also include contact with the child’s placement provider, therapeutic providers,
and educational providers, preferably in real-time, but at least by written correspondence. In addition, for
any child placed in a residential placement by the department, these visits shall include a tour of the facil-
ity where the child may have access to; a check-in with appropriate leadership about program culture and
therapeutic programming; a check-in with program direct care staff about the child’s progress in the program,;
and a check-in with the clinical director and/or the child’s therapeutic provider about the program culture,
therapeutic programming, and the child’s individual progress, strengths, and challenges in the program, which
may occur outside of the in-person visit in virtual real-time if circumstances require.
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I1. The department shall develop, in consultation with the office of child advocate, a standard operating
procedure and form for monthly visits with children conducted by the department, pursuant to RSA 169-F:5,
I, to be completed during each monthly in-person visit.

169-F:8 Court Oversight of Children in Residential Programs.

I. Except in cases of emergency placement, prior to placing a child in residential treatment programs or
psychiatric residential treatment programs, except in emergency situations, the court shall:

(a) Consider all assessments and plans for the child, including assessment of whether a residential
treatment program is the most effective and appropriate level of care, in the least restrictive environment
for the child, and any child-specific, short- and long-term goals for the child and the family. The assessment
shall specify, in writing:

(1) Whether the child’s needs can be met in a kin, fictive kin or foster family home, not primarily
dependent upon availability of community resources.

(2) If the assessment recommends a residential treatment program:

(A) The specific reasons why the child’s needs cannot be met in a kin, fictive kin or foster family
home, not primarily dependent upon availability of community resources; and

(B) Why recommended placement in a residential treatment program is the setting that will
provide the child with the most effective and appropriate level of care, in the least restrictive environment.

(3) How the placement is consistent with the short- and long-term goals for the child, as specified
in the case plan or permanency plan for the child.

(b) Confirm that the school district has complied with its legal obligations to assess the educational
impact of the placement, and consider the school district’s input on that impact.

(c) Determine that the needs of the child cannot be met through placement with a parent, legal guard-
ian, legal custodian, kin or fictive kin caregiver, or in a foster family home; and that placement of the child in
a residential treatment program provides the most effective and appropriate level of care for the child in the
least restrictive environment; and that placement is consistent with the short- and long-term goals, including
mental, behavioral, and physical health goals, for the child as specified in the permanency plan for the child,
or as outlined in the family services plan. A shortage or lack of foster family homes shall not be an acceptable
primary reason for determining that the needs of the child cannot be met in a foster family home.

(d) Review information relating to the facility, which may include staff-to-child ratio; staff training;
program culture; therapeutic, clinical and milieu programming; educational programming; recreational pro-
gramming; and, family connections, in order to ensure that the program is the most effective and appropriate
level of care, in the least restrictive environment for the child, and meets the child-specific short- and long-
term goals for the child and the family.

(e) Approve or disapprove of the placement, in a written order, containing all of the necessary findings
laid out in this section.

II. In the case of an emergency necessitating immediate placement of a child in a residential treatment
program, the department shall notify the court within 2 business days of such placement, in order for the
court to make the required findings of paragraph I.

IT1. Prior to determining that a residential treatment program is the most effective and appropriate level
of care, in the least restrictive environment for the child, the court shall consider any available assessments
and plans, giving the greatest weight to the most recent assessment and assessments completed by a licensed
psychologist or licensed neuropsychologist with specialized training in the evidence-based treatment of childhood
trauma. If the court deviates from such recommendation, the court shall make specific findings of fact regarding
the most effective and appropriate level of care, in the least restrictive environment for the child, and that the
placement is consistent with child-specific short and long-term goals for the child and the family. When making
such findings of fact, the court shall consider all relevant information, including but not limited to:

(a) Whether the protocol for the residential treatment program assessment was followed;

(b) Whether the school district is meeting the child’s educational needs, based on their statutory re-
quirements under RSA 169-B:22, RSA 169-D:18, and RSA 169-C:20;
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(c) The strengths and specific treatment or service needs of the child and the family;
(d) The expected length of stay; and
(e) The placement preference of the child and the family.
IV. When a child is placed in a residential treatment program or psychiatric residential treatment program:
(a) The department shall notify the court promptly of such placement.

(b)(1) The court shall review the placement of that child within 60 days after placement, and at every
subsequent court review hearing; or

(2) Upon a motion by the child, the child’s representative, or the child’s guardian ad litem estab-
lishing reason to believe the ordered residential treatment program is not the most effective and appropriate
level of care for the child in the least restrictive environment, the court shall review the placement within 30
days, and at every subsequent court review hearing.

(c) The court may review the placement at any time sua sponte or in response to a motion for review
by any party.

V. As long as a child remains in a residential treatment program, the department shall submit evidence
to the court and all parties, at least 5 business days prior to every regular review hearing:

(a) Demonstrating that:

(1) Ongoing assessment of the strengths and needs of the child continues to support the deter-
mination that the needs of the child cannot be met through placement with a parent, legal guardian, legal
custodian, kin or fictive kin caregiver, or in a foster family home;

(2) Any recommended psychological or clinical evaluations or assessments have been completed,
and if not, the status of those evaluations or assessments;

(3) The department has worked with the school district to assure, consistent with the best interest
of the child, the child’s educational stability;

(4) The placement in a residential treatment program provides the most effective and appropriate
level of care for the child in the least restrictive environment; and,

(5) The placement is consistent with the short- and long-term goals for the child as specified in the
permanency plan for the child, or as outlined in the family services plan.

(b) Documenting that:
(1) The specific treatment or service needs that will be met for the child in the placement;

(2) The length of time the child is expected to need treatment or services, and the treatment basis
for the determination of that length of time; and

(3) The specific efforts made by the division to prepare the child and prospective placement for the
child’s return home or to be placed with a fit and willing kin or fictive kin caregiver, a legal guardian, legal
custodian, or an adoptive parent, or in a foster family.

Amend the bill by replacing all after section 6 with the following:
7 Department of Health and Human Services; Classified Positions Established; Appropriation.

I. The following classified positions are established in the department of health and human services to
support the placement of youth in residential facilities:

(a) Eight child protective service worker IV positions (labor grade 24, step 5).
(b) Two juvenile probation and parole officer IV positions (labor grade 24, step 5).

II. The sum of $870,000 for the biennium ending June 30, 2025, is hereby appropriated to the department
of health and human services for the purpose of funding the positions established in paragraph I. In addition
to the appropriation and notwithstanding RSA 14:30-a, the department may accept and expend matching
federal funds without prior approval of the fiscal committee of the general court. The governor is authorized
to draw a warrant for the general fund portion of said sum out of any money in the treasury not otherwise
appropriated.
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8 Department of Health and Human Services; Classified Attorney Positions Established; Appropriation.

I. The following classified positions are established in the department of health and human services to
support placement of youth in residential facilities: 2 attorney III positions (labor grade 30, step 5).

II. The sum of $210,000 for the biennium ending June 30, 2025, is hereby appropriated to the department
of health and human services for the purpose of funding the positions established in paragraph I. In addition
to the appropriation and notwithstanding RSA 14:30-a, the department may accept and expend matching
federal funds without prior approval of the fiscal committee of the general court. The governor is authorized
to draw a warrant for the general fund portion of said sum out of any money in the treasury not otherwise
appropriated.

9 Department of Health and Human Services; Appropriation; Youth Visit Travel Costs. The sum of $154,440
for the fiscal year ending June 30, 2025, is hereby appropriated to the department of health and human services
for the purpose of paying for travel costs for youth visits in order to support implementing the provisions of
this act. This appropriation shall be nonlapsing. The governor is authorized to draw a warrant for said sums
out of any money in the treasury not otherwise appropriated.

10 Judicial Branch; Appropriation. The sum of $376,145 for the fiscal year ending June 30, 2025, is hereby
appropriated to the judicial branch for the purpose of funding new positions required to carry out the duties
set out in this act. In addition to the appropriation and notwithstanding RSA 14:30-a, the judicial branch may
accept and expend matching federal funds without prior approval of the fiscal committee of the general court.
The governor is authorized to draw a warrant for the general fund portion of said sum out of any money in
the treasury not otherwise appropriated.

11 Reallocation of Monies Saved. Any monies saved by the department of health and human services,
including the division for children, youth and families and the bureau of children’s behavioral health, in pre-
venting the out-of-home placement of children pursuant to this act shall be used by the department to provide
services pursuant to RSA 135-F, the system of care for children’s mental health, and any other community-
based intervention services.

12 Effective Date.
I. Sections 7-11 of this act shall take effect July 1, 2024.
II. The remainder of this act shall take effect January 1, 2025.

2024-1421s
AMENDED ANALYSIS

This bill revises criteria for out-of-home placement of children under the child protection act and other
juvenile statutes and establishes an order of preference based on placement with the child’s siblings, when
possible, and proximity to the child’s community of origin. The bill also makes appropriations to the depart-
ment of health and human services and the judicial branch to support implementation of the act.

Senate Judiciary
April 9, 2024
2024-1458s
11/08

Amendment to SB 422
Amend the bill by replacing all after the enacting clause with the following:
1 Definitions; Changed Reference. Amend RSA 5-C:1, XVIII to read as follows:

XVIII. “Legitimation” means the legal process of establishing the [paternityl parentage of a child born
out of wedlock or whose [paternity] parentage is being disputed pursuant to RSA 5-C:24 and RSA 460:29.

2 New Paragraph; Definitions. Amend RSA 5-C:1 by inserting after paragraph XXVI the following new
paragraph:

XXVI-a. “Non-birth parent” means the genetic parent of a child or the intended parent of a child born
through assisted reproduction regardless of genetic connection. A non-birth parent shall not mean a gamete
donor.
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3 Definitions; Changed Reference. Amend RSA 5-C:1, XXXV to read as follows:

XXXV. “3-party affidavit of [paternity] parentage” means the voluntary acknowledgment of [fatherhood]
parentage signed by: (1) the [natural-father] non-birth parent, (2) the birth mother and (3) the birth
mother’s [husband] spouse who is not the [father] genetic or intended parent, but was the birth mother’s
[husband] spouse at the time of conception, during the pregnancy, or at the time of the child’s birth.

4 Disclosure of Information From Vital Records; Changed Reference. Amend RSA 5-C:9, VII to read as
follows:

VII. Disclosure of voluntary acknowledgments and adjudication of [paternity]l parentage by judicial or
administrative processes shall be released for the purposes of the state case registry pursuant to RSA 161-B:7.

5 Completion of Birth Worksheet for Hospital or Institutional Births; Changed Reference. Amend RSA
5-C:19 to read as follows:

5-C:19 Completion of Birth Worksheet for Hospital or Institutional Births.

I. A hospital, institution, birthing center, attendant, or parent shall file with the division a birth record
for each live birth which occurs in the state of New Hampshire.

II. In the case of a hospital or institution live birth, a completed birth worksheet shall include the fol-
lowing, provided by personnel as indicated:

(a) The hospital or institution birth registrar or designee shall provide:
(1) Information regarding the child, including name, date and time of birth, and sex.
(2) Information regarding the facility, including name, street address, city or town, and county.
(3) Information regarding the birth mother including:
(A) Current name and maiden name.
(B) Date of birth and birthplace.
(C) City or town, county, and state of residence.

(D) Residential address and complete mailing address if different from the residential address,
or, if the same as the residential address, her zip code only.

(E) Social security number.

(F) Usual occupation and the business or industry in which employed.
(G) Race.

(H) Level of education.

(I) Whether she was married at the time of the birth of child, or conception of child, or any time
between.

(4) Information regarding the father or other non-birth parent including:
(A) Name.

(B) Date of birth and birthplace.
(C) City or town, county, and state of residence.

(D) Residential address and complete mailing address if different from the residential address,
or, if the same as the residential address, [his] zip code only.

(E) Social security number.

(F) Usual occupation and the business or industry in which employed.
(G) Race.

(H) Level of education.

(5) The method of payment for prenatal care and for delivery.
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(6) Statistical information from the birth mother, medical reports, and her physician regarding the
birth mother and child including:

(A) Number of live births, not including this child, now living and now dead.
(B) Date of the last live birth.

(C) Other terminations of pregnancy, any time after conception.

(D) Date of the last other termination of pregnancy.

(E) Date last normal menses began.

(F) Month that prenatal care began.

(G) Total number of prenatal visits.

(H) Birth weight of the child.

(I) Clinical estimation of gestation in weeks.

(J) Plurality of the child, including but not limited to single, twin, or triplet.
(K) Birth order of the child.

(L) The Apgar score, which is an evaluation of a newborn infant’s physical status, at one minute
and at 5 minutes.

(7) If the birth mother is transferred to another facility before or after giving birth, transfer infor-
mation for the birth mother and child including:

(A) Whether the birth mother was transferred prior to delivery or after delivery.
(B) Whether the infant was transferred after delivery.
(C) Whether the child was living or dead at the time of the report.
(8) Information regarding the medical aspects of the pregnancy including:
(A) Any medical risk factors for the pregnancy.
(B) Any other risk factors for the pregnancy.
(C) Any obstetric procedures performed during the course of the pregnancy.
(D) Any complications of labor and delivery.
(E) The method of delivery.
(F) Any abnormal conditions of the newborn.
(&) Any congenital anomalies of the child.

(9) Indication from one parent whether the division shall be authorized to provide the Social Secu-
rity Administration with data from the birth record in order for the Social Security Administration to issue
a social security number.

(10) Indication from one parent whether the division shall be authorized to release birth record
information to the New Hampshire immunization registry.

(11) Signature of the individual who interviewed the parent or other informant certifying that the
information has been recorded exactly as given by the parent or other informant or has been taken from
medical records.

(b) A parent or other informant shall provide his or her signature certifying that the information
supplied is a true and correct representation of the facts to the best of his or her knowledge; the date signed;
and the informant’s relationship to the child.

ITI. A physician member of the institution’s obstetrics team or service, the chief of obstetrics, the chief of
the medical staff or the hospital administrator shall, within 72 hours of the birth, certify that the child was
born alive at the place and time and the date stated by providing:
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(a) His or her signature as certifier.

(b) The date signed.

(c¢) His or her name and title.

(d) The name and title of the attendant if other than the certifier.
(e) The attendant’s mailing address.

IV. The birth worksheet shall not be signed by a parent or informant until the child has been given a
name or the birth mother is being discharged from the hospital, whichever is sooner.

V. When both a physician and a nurse midwife are present at a hospital birth, the physician shall sign
the birth worksheet and be named as the certifier, and the name of the nurse midwife shall be entered as
the attendant at birth.

VI. When a physician is not present and a nurse midwife is present at a hospital birth, the nurse midwife
shall sign the birth worksheet and be named as the certifier.

VII. Any item of information not obtainable shall be indicated as: “not known” when the information
is not known; “not available” when the information is known, but not immediately available; or “refused to
provide” when the parent or informant refuses to provide the information.

VIII. In the case of an [unwed] unmarried birth mother, unless an affidavit of [paternityl parentage
has been executed, the notation “not stated” shall be entered in the spaces provided for information concern-
ing the father or other non-birth parent.

IX. When a child is born in a moving conveyance, the city or town of birth shall be that city or town
where the child was first removed from said conveyance.

X. When a married birth mother refuses to give information concerning her husband as father or other
spouse as non-birth parent of the child, the hospital shall enter “not stated” on the birth record for all
information pertaining to the father or other non-birth parent of the child.

XI. For a birth which occurred in a hospital or institution, the hospital or institution birth registrar or
designee shall initially record information for the birth record on the birth worksheet and permanently retain
the birth worksheet in the birth mother’s medical record files at the hospital.

6 Completion of the Birth Worksheet for Non-Hospital Births; Changed Reference. Amend RSA 5-C:20 to
read as follows:

5-C:20 Completion of the Birth Worksheet for Non-Hospital Births.

I. If a child is born in New Hampshire at home or some place other than a facility that regularly pre-
pares birth records and is brought to a New Hampshire hospital or birthing center with the birth mother
within 24 hours of birth, the hospital or birthing center shall complete the birth record in accordance with
RSA 5-C:19 except that the place of birth shall be entered as the city or town of the actual birth; the physi-
cian who attends the birth mother in the hospital shall be entered as the physician who attended the birth
mother in the hospital or birthing center; and the certifying physician signature section shall be signed by
the physician who attended the birth mother in the facility.

I1. Birthing centers shall complete birth records for children born in their facilities in accordance with
the reporting requirements for hospital and institution live births as provided in RSA 5-C:19.

ITI. In the case of a home birth, the record shall be completed as follows:

(a) If attended by a physician, midwife, or nurse midwife, then the physician, midwife or nurse mid-
wife shall report the birth of the child to the division or to the registrar in the town where the birth occurred
within one week of the birth. The physician, midwife or nurse midwife shall, within 2 weeks of the birth,
complete the birth worksheet by completing the medical and statistical sections in accordance with RSA
5-C:19 by entering his or her name and title as the attendant; by signing the worksheet as the attendant;
by providing his or her mailing address; and, by giving the signed worksheet to the parent to bring to the
clerk of the town or city where the birth occurred. The clerk of the town or city shall report to the division by
the next working day any home birth that takes place within his or her jurisdiction if such an occurrence is
brought to his or her attention and, the division shall notify the appropriate clerk of the town or city of any
home birth reported directly to the division.
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(b) If a home birth is not attended by a physician or midwife, then the parent shall report the birth of
the child to the division or to the registrar in the town where the birth occurred within one week of the birth.
The clerk of the town or city shall report to the division by the next working day any home birth that takes
place within his or her jurisdiction if such an occurrence is brought to his or her attention. The division shall
notify the appropriate clerk of the town or city of any home birth reported directly to the division. Upon notice
of a home birth, the clerk of the town or city shall prepare the birth worksheet completing as many items as
possible, including the name and address of a birth attendant if a parent, friend, ambulance attendant, or
other person attended the birth; sign the birth worksheet as certifier; and, if any of the original information
on the worksheet was changed by a parent before presentation to the clerk of the town or city, the parent
shall initial such changes and note the reason for the change in the margin of the birth worksheet. When a
home birth occurs in the state of New Hampshire and the birth mother is taken with her child to a hospital
outside the state, such a birth shall be registered by the division notifying the appropriate clerk of the town
or city of any home birth reported directly to the division.

IV. If a birth occurs in an unincorporated town or a geographical area where there is no clerk of the
town, the birth record shall be filed with the nearest clerk of a town or city or the state registrar. The actual
place of birth shall be shown on the birth record along with a notation stating why the birth record was filed
in a city or town other than that of the birth occurrence.

V. In the case where the birth mother has refused to provide the name of her [husband]| spouse, and
at a later date she provides the name of her [husband] spouse to the clerk of the town or city or the division,
the birth mother shall also provide to the clerk of the town or city the documentation necessary to process a
correction to the birth record pursuant to RSA 5-C:85. When reviewed pursuant to RSA 5-C:85, the clerk of
the town or city shall add the name of the [husband] spouse to the birth record.

VI. Whenever the marital status on the birth record is disputed by the birth mother, she shall provide
to the division a medical opinion in writing concerning the estimated date of conception in relation to the
date of the divorce and a certified copy of the divorce decree to establish the exact date of divorce. The state
registrar shall review the information provided and make the determination of marital status for the birth
record. If the birth mother disputes the determination of the state registrar, the birth mother may request
an administrative hearing within 30 days of the registrar’s decision.

7 Distribution of the Birth Record; Changed Reference. Amend RSA 5-C:21 to read as follows:
5-C:21 Distribution of the Birth Record.

I. The hospital or institution birth registrar shall forward a completed birth record to the division and
clerk of the town or city no later than 6 days from the date of birth and provide to the parents upon discharge
from the hospital or institution an exact copy of the information that will appear on the official birth record
of the newborn child. If the birth mother has signed release papers for adoption, the hospital or institution
birth registrar shall make the notation “Adoption Pending” on the face of the parent’s notice and forward the
parent notice to the division instead of giving it to the birth mother.

I1. Hospital and institution birth registrars shall not issue any document resembling a birth certificate
or which appears to be an official birth record.

III. The clerk of the town or city where the birth occurred shall review the information on the parent
notice presented by the parent, and, if the information is confirmed by the parent, the clerk shall issue a certi-
fied copy of the birth certificate to the parent after receipt of payment pursuant to RSA 5-C:10. If the parent
states that the information is incorrect, the clerk shall follow the correction procedures in RSA 5-C:85. In the
case of a home birth, the clerk shall forward a copy of the completed birth record with the birth worksheet
to the division within 2 business days of its completion; mail the parent notice to the parent or personally
present it to the parent; and exchange the parent notice for a certified copy after payment of the fee required
by RSA 5-C:10.

IV. The division shall provide the following to the city or town of residence of the birth mother:

(a) The child’s name.

(b) The child’s date of birth.

(c) The child’s place of birth.

(d) The father or other non-birth parent’s name.

(e) The birth mother’s name.
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(f) The state file number, which is a unique, sequential identifying number assigned by the division.

V. If corrections of misspellings or typographical errors are required, the clerk of the city or town where
the birth occurred shall forward a notice of changes to the division and issue a certified copy of the birth
record, as amended, to the parents.

8 Legitimation of Child Form; Changed Reference. Amend RSA 5-C:22 as follows:
5-C:22 Legitimation of Child Form.

I. Unless the legitimation is by court order, each parent shall complete a legitimation of child form with
the following:

(a) Information regarding the child, the birth mother, and the natural father or other non-birth parent,
including: the name of the child as originally recorded; date and place of birth; maiden name of the birth mother;
the birth mother’s social security number; the birth mother’s city or town of residence; full name of the child, full
name of the natural father or other non-birth parent; date of birth of the natural father or other non-birth
parent; state or foreign country of birth of the natural father or other non-birth parent; the natural father’s
or other non-birth parent’s social security number; and current mailing address of the parents.

(b) The signature of the natural father or other non-birth parent and the birth mother.
(c) The city or town and county where the affidavit was signed.

(d) The signature of the notary public or justice of the peace with the expiration date of commission,
the date signed, and sealed if applicable.

(e) Indication as to whether the certificate of marriage was presented to the clerk of the town or city.
(f) The date received by the clerk of the town or city.

(g) The date the new record was made.

(h) The signature and city or town of the clerk.

II. When the birth mother or natural father or other non-birth parent or both are under the age of
18, each signature shall be accompanied by the notarized signature of a parent or guardian unless the legiti-
mation is by court order.

9 Birth Record Following Legitimation; Changed Reference. Amend RSA 5-C:23 as follows:
5-C:23 Birth Record Following Legitimation.

I. An application for filing an amended birth record in the case of a legitimation shall be made by a
parent on a legitimation of child form pursuant to RSA 5-C:22 and submitted to the clerk of the city or town
where the birth occurred.

IT. Upon receipt of a legitimation of child form and a certified copy of the parent’s marriage record, or
in accordance with procedures outlined in RSA 457:42 and RSA 460:29, the clerk of the city or town where
the birth occurred shall prepare an amended birth record.

I11. The following procedures shall be followed if a legitimation case is settled by the court pursuant to
RSA 460:29:

(a) A certified copy of the court order shall be presented by the parents to the clerk of the city or town
where the birth occurred.

(b) The legitimation form shall be prepared pursuant to RSA 5-C:22 and filed by the clerk of the city
or town with a notation on the form indicating that the court order has been the basis of the action under
RSA 460:29.

(¢) The birth record shall then be processed as specified in RSA 5-C:87, and amended by adding in-
formation to the record concerning the father or other non-birth parent.

IV. The clerk of the city or town shall prepare the amended birth record in accordance with RSA 5-C:89,
adding the information concerning the father or other non-birth parent.

V. The court order and the legitimation of child form shall be retained permanently by the clerk of the
city or town on the form appropriate for the year of birth pursuant to RSA 5-C:86.

10 Affidavit of Paternity; Changed Reference. Amend RSA 5-C:24 to read as follows:
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5-C:24 Affidavit of [Paternity]l Parentage.

I. In the case of a child born in the state of New Hampshire whose [paternity| parentage has not been
established by means of an affidavit of [paternity] parentage, the birth mother, [or-the] natural father, or
other non-birth parent may initiate a request for an acknowledgment of [paternity] parentage.

I1. The affidavit of [paternity] parentage shall be completed and filed in accordance with RSA 5-C:25.
A genetic parent or a person who is a parent pursuant to RSA 168-B:2, I1, without the assistance of
a gestational carrier (as gestational carrier arrangements are governed by RSA 168-B:12), married
or unmarried, may establish parentage by signing an affidavit of parentage.

ITI. A hospital shall attempt to have the affidavit of [paternity] parentage completed in the hospital, but if
an affidavit is not completed before the birth record is sent to the division and the [paternity]l parentage is not
yet established, then the phrase “not stated” shall be inserted for the father’s or other non-birth parent’s name.

IV. If the affidavit of [paternity] parentage is not completed in the hospital, the birth mother and
natural father or non-birth parent shall contact the clerk of the town or city to execute the affidavit of

[paternity] parentage.

V. The natural father’s or other non-birth parent’s name, date of birth, and state of birth shall be
added to the birth record by the clerk of the town or city upon the registrar’s receipt of a sworn, notarized
affidavit of [paternityl parentage.

VI. A copy of the completed affidavit of [paternity] parentage shall be forwarded by the hospital to the
department of health and human services, division of child support services and the original to the division.

VII. If the birth mother or natural father or other non-birth parent is not of legal age, then each
signature on the affidavit of [paternity] parentage form of a person under the age of 18 shall be accompanied
by the signature of his or her parent or legal guardian.

VIII. When an affidavit of [paternity] parentage is executed after the death of a child, a notation shall
be made on the affidavit indicating that the child is deceased and that the changes authorized on the birth
record are also applicable to the death record.

IX. When the married birth mother of a child born in a hospital indicates that her [husband] spouse
is not the natural father or other non-birth parent of the child, but because of time constraints a 3-party
affidavit of [paternity] parentage cannot be executed before she leaves the hospital, the surname of the child
shall be any name chosen by the birth mother and the hospital shall enter “not stated” on the birth record for
all information pertaining to the father or other non-birth parent of the child. The birth mother, natural
father or other non-birth parent, and [husband] spouse shall subsequently sign a 3-party affidavit of [pa=
ternityt parentage form, with each signature notarized, and submit it to the clerk of the city or town where
the birth occurred. Upon receipt of the signed and notarized 3-party affidavit of [paternityl parentage, the
clerk shall create a new birth record for the child, reflecting the new name of the child as well as the natural
father’s or other non-birth parent’s information. The natural father or other non-birth parent may sign
the affidavit before the birth of the child has occurred, but the birth mother’s signature shall not be affixed
to the affidavit form until after the birth of the child.

X. When an [unwed] unmarried birth mother applies to the clerk of a town or city wishing to add the
name of a father or other non-birth parent to [her] the child’s birth record the following shall apply: the af-
fidavit of [paternity] parentage shall be executed prior to the child’s 18th birthday; the natural father or other
non-birth parent to be named shall personally sign the affidavit; if signed separately, each signature shall be
separately notarized; in those cases where the alleged natural father or other non-birth parent is deceased,
the birth mother shall present [her] the request in the form of petition to a court of competent jurisdiction; and,
if the court approves the request, the resulting court order shall be processed by the clerk of the town or city in
the same manner as a court determination of [paternityl parentage and in accordance with RSA 5-C:26.

XI. Once the surname of the child has been established through an executed affidavit of [paternityl
parentage, any subsequent change shall be made upon receipt of a certified copy of a legal change of name
issued by a court of competent jurisdiction.

11 Informational Requirements for an Affidavit of Paternity; Changed Reference. Amend RSA 5-C:25 as follows:
5-C:25 Informational Requirements for an Affidavit of [Paternity] Parentage.
I. Parents shall include the following information when completing an affidavit of [paternity] parentage:
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(a) Information about the child including: the child’s first, middle, and last names; the child’s city or town
and state of birth; the child’s date of birth; the child’s name as it appears on the birth record; the child’s social
security number, if known; whether the child is living; and, the child’s date and place of death, if applicable.

(b) Information about, and signature of, the child’s natural father or other non-birth parent, includ-
ing: the natural father’s or other non-birth parent’s full name and date of birth; the natural father’s or
other non-birth parent’s state of birth; the natural father’s or other non-birth parent’s social security
number; the natural father’s or other non-birth paren#’s address; and, the natural father’s or other non-
birth parent’s signature and date signed, unless the natural father’s or other non-birth parent is a minor
in which case [his] that person’s parent or guardian’s signature shall be obtained and the date signed.

(c¢) Information about, and signature of, the child’s birth mother, including: the birth mother’s maiden
name; the birth mother’s social security number; birth mother’s address; if the birth mother is a minor, her
parent or guardian’s signature; and, the birth mother’s signature and date signed, unless the birth mother
is a minor, in which case her parent or guardian’s signature shall be obtained and the date signed.

(d) When the birth mother’s husband or other non-birth parent agrees that he or she is not the child’s
natural father or other non-birth parent, the following information, and signature of, the birth mother’s
[husband] spouse, including: the [husband’s] spouse’s name; the [husband’s] spouse’s social security number;
the [husband’s] spouse’s address; and the [husband’s] spouse’s signature and date signed, unless the [husband]
spouse is a minor in which case his parent or guardian’s signature shall be obtained and the date signed.

(e) The signatures of the child’s natural father or other non-birth parent, birth mother, and, if he
or she is not the child’s natural father or other non-birth parent, the spouse, shall be notarized and shall
include the date signed and the date the notary’s commission expires.

(f) Certification of hospital or birthing center, including the name and signature of the preparer and
date signed, and the name and the address of the hospital or birthing facility.

II. In the case of a home birth, the midwife or attendant shall refer the birth mother to the clerk of the
town or city to complete the affidavit of [paternity] parentage.

12 Birth Record Following Paternity Determination; Changed Reference. Amend RSA 5-C:26 to read as follows:
5-C:26 Preparation of New Birth Record Following [Paternity] Parentage Determination.

I. Upon receipt of a certified copy of a court order regarding the [paternity] parentage of a child born
in New Hampshire, the clerk of the city or town where the birth occurred shall prepare a new birth record.

I1. Acceptable documentation for preparing a new birth record shall include a certified court order that
clearly states that the birth record shall be changed to reflect [paternity]l parentage or a photocopy of that
court order and a letter from the division of child support services indicating that a [paternity] parentage
hearing has been initiated by that division.

ITI. The clerk of the town or city shall prepare the new birth record, retain its originally assigned file
number, send the copy marked “state” to the division; and retain the copy marked “clerk.”

IV. Upon receipt of the completed affidavit of [paternity] parentage by the clerk of the city or town, the
information concerning the father or other non-birth parent shall be added to the birth record, or in the case of
an affidavit of [paternity| parentage submitted after the filing of the birth record, a new record shall be completed
by the clerk of the town or city and forwarded to the division in accordance with this section and RSA 5-C:21.

V. The surname of the child shall be recorded as shown on the affidavit of [paternity]l parentage and
in accordance with RSA 5-C:24. If the birth mother is [unwed| unmarried, the surname given to the child
shall be any name chosen by the [mother-and-father] birth mother and natural father or other non-birth
parent. If the birth mother is married and a 3-party affidavit of [paternityl parentage is being utilized, the
surname of the child shall be any name chosen by the birth mother.

13 Rescission of Paternity Form; Changed Reference. Amend RSA 5-C:27 to read as follows:
RSA 5-C:27 Rescission of [Paternity] Parentage Form.

I. A parent or legal guardian who is a signatory to the affidavit of [paternity] parentage shall provide
information to complete a rescission of [paternity] parentage form as follows:

(a) Information about the child, including the child’s first, middle, and last names as they appear on
the birth record, the child’s date of birth, the city or town of birth, the child’s social security number, if known,
and the child’s sex.
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(b) Information about the child’s [father-and-mother] parents, and the birth mother’s husband or
other spouse if a 3-party affidavit of [paternity] parentage was completed, including the father’s or other
non-birth parent’s full name, the father’s or other non-birth parent’s date of birth, the father’s or other
non-birth parent’s mailing address, the birth mother’s full name, the birth mother’s mailing address,
whether a completed 3-party affidavit of [paternity] parentage was submitted and, if a 3-party affidavit was
filed, the [husband’s] spouse’s full name and mailing address.

(¢) The rescinder’s signature and date.

II. The form shall be attested to by a notary public or justice of the peace. The city or town clerk shall
sign and date the form.

14 Rescission of Paternity Procedures; Changed Reference. Amend RSA 5-C:28 to read as follows:
5-C:28 Rescission of [Paternity] Parentage Procedures.

I. A parent or legal guardian may request to rescind an affidavit of [paternityl parentage from the
clerk of the city or town where the birth occurred within 60 days of the filing of an affidavit of [paternityl
parentage unless an administrative or judicial proceeding related to the child results in an earlier date.

II. Once the completed rescission of [paternity]l parentage form is filed, the clerk of the town or city
shall remove the name of the father or other non-birth parent from the birth record and insert “not stated”
in the space provided for the father’s or other non-birth parent’s name or, if the original birth record was
filed prior to the completion of an affidavit of [paternity] parentage, change the child’s name on the birth
record back to the name stated on the original record before the affidavit of [paternityl parentage was filed.

ITI. After the 60-day rescission period has passed, any challenge to the affidavit shall be decided only
by a court of competent jurisdiction.

IV. The fee for changing the birth record due to a rescission of [paternity] parentage shall be in ac-
cordance with RSA 5-C:10.

V. The clerk of the city or town where the birth occurred shall distribute the rescission of [paternity] parent-
age to the birth mother; the father or other non-birth parent named on the affidavit of [paternity] parentage;
the parent or legal guardian of minor signatory as stated on the affidavit of [paternity| parentage; the division; the
department of health and human services; the [husband] spouse, if a 3-party affidavit of [paternity] parentage
was completed; and, the hospital that was the originator of the affidavit of [paternity] parentage, if applicable.

15 Surrogate Mother; Changed Reference. RSA 5-C:29 is repealed and reenacted to read as follows:
5-C:29 Gestational Carrier.

When a child is born to a gestational carrier as defined in RSA 168-B:1, IX, if there is a parentage order
issued prior to birth, the birth record shall list parentage as reflected in the order. If a parentage order is
issued post birth, the birth record shall list parentage consistent with the order as either an original birth
record or as an amended birth record as requested by the party or parties.

16 Birth Resulting from Artificial Insemination; Changed Reference. Amend RSA 5-C:30 to read as follows:
5-C:30 Birth Resulting from Artificial Insemination.

I. When it is known that the birth of a child is the result of artificial insemination as defined in RSA
168-B:1 of sperm from a person who is not the birth mother’s [husband] spouse, [the-male] parentage shall
be indicated on the birth record as follows:

(a) If the birth mother is married, the [husband’s] spouse’s name shall be listed as the [father] par-
ent of the child.

I1. In the case where the birth of a child is the result of artificial insemination of a [surregate-mother]
person acting as a gestational carrier, the preparation of the birth record shall be governed by the pro-
cedures in RSA 5-C:29.

17 Initiation of the Death Record; Changed Reference. Amend RSA 5-C:63, XI to read as follows:
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XI. In the case of an infant death when the child is less than one year of age and the birth mother is
not married, the name of the father or other non-birth parent shall not be provided unless the father’s or
other non-birth parent’s name appears on the birth record or an affidavit of [paternity] parentage has
been executed relating to both the birth and death certificate of the child. The name of the child on the death
record shall be the same as the name of the child as shown on the child’s birth record.

18 Fetal Death Paternity Affidavit; Changed Reference. Amend RSA 5-C:76 to read as follows:
5-C:76 Fetal Death [Paternity] Parentage Affidavit.

The information and signature requirements for a fetal death [paternity] parentage affidavit shall be as
follows: the father’s or other non-birth parent’s full name; the father’s or other non-birth parent’s city
or town, county, and state of residence; the father’s or other non-birth parent’s date of birth; the father’s
or other non-birth parent’s social security number; the date and place of delivery of the fetus; the birth
mother’s full maiden name; birth mother’s social security number; the birth mother’s resident address; the
name of the fetus if it appears on the report of fetal death; [thefather’s] both parents’ s1gnature and the
date signed; [the-mothe re-ar snred;] the birth mother’s [husband’s] spouse’s signature
in the case where the child’s father or other non-bzrth parent is not the birth mother’s [husband] spouse;
the signature of a parent or guardian if the natural father or other non-birth parent, the birth mother, or
the birth mother’s [husband] spouse is not of legal age, and the date signed; and the signature and seal of
a notary public or justice of the peace and the date signed.

19 Procedures for Completion of the Fetal Death Paternity Affidavit; Changed Reference. Amend RSA
5-C:77 to read as follows:

5-C:77 Procedures for Completion of the Fetal Death [Paternity] Parentage Affidavit.

The name and information concerning the father or other non-birth parent shall be included in the
report of fetal death for a child delivered out of wedlock in the state of New Hampshire upon receipt of a
sworn affidavit of [paternity] parentage signed by both parents as described in RSA 5-C:76. The hospital or
institution’s designated staff shall prepare the fetal death [paternityl parentage affidavit and attach it to the
report of fetal death that is forwarded to the division. Upon receipt of the fetal death [paternity] parentage
affidavit, the information concerning the father or other non-birth parent shall be added by the division
to the report of fetal death. The fetal death [paternity] parentage affidavit form shall be retained by the
division with the report of fetal death in accordance with the record retention schedule listed in RSA 5-C:96.

20 Retention Schedule for Forms and Other Documents; Changed Reference. Amend RSA 5-C:96 to read
as follows:

5-C:96 Retention Schedule for Forms and Other Documents.

I. “Vital event record,” for the purpose of the retention schedule established in this section, means all of
the following records:

(a) All birth records and any related documents used in the preparation of new records, including
completed affidavits of [paternity] parentage legitimation forms, court-ordered [paternity] parentage deci-
sions, court-authorized decisions related to change of gender, and all records relating to adoptions.

(b) All death records, including changes affecting medical certification, submitted by the physician,
APRN, or physician assistant to either the clerk of the town or city or the division.

(c¢) All marriage records, including any documents and related material used in the process of voiding
any marriage certificate.

(d) Divorce, civil annulment, and legal separation records that are on file at the division.

I1. For the purpose of preservation of facts in relation to births, marriages, deaths, and divorces, vital
event records shall be retained by the city or town clerks and hospitals as follows:

(a) Application forms used to apply for certified copies: retained for one year.

(b) Marriage application worksheet when the clerk of the town or city has received the license from
the officiant: retained for one year.

(c) Marriage application worksheet when the marriage license has not been returned by the officiant
or it has been determined that the marriage had never taken place: retained for 50 years.
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(d) Birth worksheet, hospital birth: retained permanently.

(e) Birth worksheet, home birth: retained permanently.

(f) In-state burial permit: retained for 6 years.

(g) Out-of-state burial permit: retained for 10 years.

(h) Disinterment and reinterment permit; in-state disposition: retained for 6 years.
(i) Disinterment and reinterment permit; out-of-state disposition: retained for 10 years.
(j) Medical examiner’s cremation certificate: retained for 6 years.

(k) Amendment or correction form: retained permanently.

(1) Clerk of the town or city’s copy of marriage certificate: retained permanently.
(m) Fetal death report: retained permanently.

(n) Funeral director receipt: retained for one year.

(o) Vital event records, including birth, marriages, and deaths, not specifically listed in this paragraph:
retained permanently.

21 Handling of Special Records; Changed Reference. Amend RSA 5-C:107, II to read as follows:

I1. Access to non-certified copies of records involving [paternity] parentage judgments, affidavits of [pa-
ternityl parentage, legitimation, and change of sex which require the preparation of a new birth certificate
shall be handled as provided by this paragraph. Any New Hampshire state agency shall be granted access
when a specific legal authority is presented. The registrant and parents, legal guardians, or legal representa-
tives of the registrant shall have access to the record, and any order from a court of competent jurisdiction
requesting access shall be honored. To indicate that the document is a non-certified copy, a copy of the docu-
ment shall be marked “informational copy only.”

22 New Paragraph; Parent-Child Relationship. Amend RSA 168-B:2 by inserting after paragraph VII the
following new paragraph:

VIII. Any person who is a parent pursuant to RSA 168-B:2, II, without the assistance of a gestational
carrier (gestational carrier arrangements are governed by RSA 168-B:12), married or unmarried, may estab-
lish parentage by signing an affidavit of parentage pursuant to RSA 5-C:24.

23 Special Rules of Evidence and Procedure; Changed Reference. Amend RSA 546-B:27, X to read as follows:

X. A voluntary acknowledgment of [paternity] parentage, certified as a true copy, is admissible to es-
tablish parentage of the child.

24 Inheritance of Children Born of Unwed Parents; Changed Reference. Amend RSA 561:4 to read as follows:
561:4 Inheritance of Children Born of Unwed Parents.

I. A child born of unwed parents shall inherit from or through his birth mother as if born in lawful
wedlock. The estate of a person born of unwed parents dying intestate and leaving no issue, nor [husband;
nor-wife] spouse shall descend to the birth mother, and, if the birth mother is dead, through the line of the
birth mother as if the person so dying were born in lawful wedlock.

I1. A child born of unwed parents shall inherit from or through his or her father or other non-birth
parent as if born in lawful wedlock, under any of the following conditions:

(a) Intermarriage of the parents after the birth of the child.
(b) Acknowledgment of [paternity] parentage or legitimation [by-thefather].
(c) A court decree adjudges the decedent to be the [father] parent before his or her death.

(d) [Paternity] Parentage is established after the death of the [father] parent by clear and convinc-
ing evidence.

(e) The decedent had adopted the child.
25 Effective Date. This act shall take effect on July 1, 2025.
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Senate Judiciary
March 13, 2024
2024-1119s
02/06

Amendment to SB 423
Amend RSA 402:85, T as inserted by section 1 of the bill by replacing it with the following:

I. Upon written request by a claimant or the claimant’s attorney, an insurer doing business in this state
shall provide the claimant or the claimant’s attorney with the liability coverage limits of that insurer’s in-
sured. The insurer shall provide the liability coverage limits within 60 days of receipt of the written request.
The claimant or claimant’s attorney receiving the liability coverage limits shall utilize the liability coverage
limits only in connection with the claim or lawsuit which pertains to the insured.

Election Law and Municipal Affairs
March 28, 2024

2024-1369s

11/05

Amendment to SB 448-FN
Amend the bill by replacing all after the enacting clause with the following:

1 Town of Haverhill; Woodsville Fire District. 1887, 204:1 - 204:4, as amended by 1899, 196:1 - 196:4; 1913,
313:1; 1990, 37:1; 2009, 147:1; and 2021, 124:1, is repealed and reenacted to read as follows:

Section 1. The Woodsville fire district is hereby established as a village district governed by RSA chapter
52 and shall have all the rights, duties, and obligations of a village district pursuant to such chapter. The
district shall be a body corporate and politic pursuant to such chapter. Woodsville is established for the pur-
poses set forth in RSA 52:1, I(a), (b), (c), (d), (e), (), (g), (h), (i), (k), (m) and (n).

Section 2. The board of commissioners, and all other officers and officials of the Woodsville fire district,
shall have and hold their offices of the village district as though duly elected or appointed pursuant to RSA
chapter 52, until the next duly called annual meeting.

Section 3. The boundaries of the district shall be co-extensive with the boundaries of the existing fire dis-
trict established by the town of Haverhill board of selectmen on or about December 1, 1990.

Section 4. All obligations and liabilities of the fire district shall be the obligations and liabilities of the village
district. All legal or equitable interests in property of any kind, wherever located and by whomever held belong-
ing to the existing fire district shall vest, subject to all liens, claims and encumbrances, in the village district.

2 Repeal. 1887, 204:5 — 204:13, as amended by 1899, 196:5-196:13, relative to the Woodsville fire district,
is repealed.

3 New Section; Town and Village District Expenses. Amend RSA 52 by inserting after section 52:1-a the
following new section:

52:1-b Town and Village District Expenses. Any village district organized under the provisions of this
chapter may at a regular or special village district meeting vote to cooperate or act jointly with other village
districts or with towns to defray expenses and take other appropriate action necessary to protect its interest
in connection with purposes stated in RSA 52:1, I(a)-(n) for state and local issues. Such village districts may
enter into such agreements pursuant to RSA 53-A.

4 Highway Maintenance and Fire Protection Responsibilities; Woodsville Fire District.

I. Each year, the Woodsville fire district and not the town of Haverhill is responsible for maintenance
of class IV and V highways within its limits:

(a) The town shall compensate the district an amount determined by the following formula:

(1) For each mile of class IV and V highway in the district, the district shall receive 50 percent of
the average cost for Haverhill to maintain the class IV and class V highways in the previous year, as deter-
mined by Haverhill’s per mile expenditures for highway operations as reported to the department of revenue
administration; and
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(2) The district shall receive 50 percent of the amount determined by a fraction of the cost, calculated
with reference to subparagraph (b), to maintain class IV and V highways, the numerator of which shall be the
assessed valuation of the properties in the district, and the denominator of which shall be the assessed valuation
of the properties in the entire town of Haverhill as determined annually from the town’s prior year MS-1 form.

(b) The calculation of the cost to maintain class IV and V highways set forth in subparagraphs (a)(1)
and (2) shall include items, including but not limited to, the cost of labor (including benefits), road mainte-
nance contracts, insurance, first line supervision, materials, maintenance of equipment, and depreciation of
equipment. The calculation of cost shall not include any amount for highway capital projects.

(c) The district shall also receive a share of the state highway block grant funds received by the town
in the previous year, calculated according to the formulas in RSA 235:23, but based on population and road
mileage of the district compared to the population and road mileage of the entire town of Haverhill.

(d) If district residents vote at an annual district meeting or special meeting to relinquish to the town
of Haverhill the district’s responsibility respecting highways within its limits, such vote shall take effect at
the start of the next fiscal year, provided such date is at least 3 months from the vote.

II. Each year the Woodsville fire district and not the town of Haverhill is responsible for fire protection
within its limits.
(a) The town shall compensate the district as follows:
(1) For every square mile of area covered by the district, one half of the average cost for Haverhill

to provide fire protection per square mile, in the previous year, for the area covered by the town fire depart-
ment; and

(2) For every resident covered by the district fire department, one half of the average cost per capita
to provide fire protection, in the previous year, to the residents covered by the town fire department.

The cost to provide fire protection in subparagraphs (a)(1) and (2) shall be the total gross fire budget of the
town from the previous year.

(b) If district residents vote at an annual district meeting or special meeting to relinquish to the town
of Haverhill the district’s responsibility respecting fire protection within its limits, such vote shall take effect
at the start of the next fiscal year, provided such date is at least 3 months from the vote.

5 Applicability. Section 4 of this act shall apply to the town of Haverhill and the Woodsville fire district and
is suspended if agreements pursuant to RSA 52:1-b and RSA 53-A covering the issues in section 4 are in effect.

6 Effective Date. This act shall take effect January 1, 2025.
2024-1369s
AMENDED ANALYSIS

This bill establishes the Woodsville Fire District as a village district, with all rights, duties, and obligations
of such a district. The bill also allocates responsibility for highway maintenance and fire protection between
the district and town of Haverhill.

Senate Finance
April 9, 2024
2024-1463s
02/05

Amendment to SB 459-FN
Amend the bill by replacing all after section 10 with the following:

11 Department of Health and Human Services; Division for Children, Youth and Families; Classified Posi-
tions Established; Appropriation.

I. The following classified positions are established in the department of health and human services to
support the department’s division for children, youth and families, bureau of field services and legal services
in completing new responsibilities as a result of statute changes:

(a) 11 attorney II positions (labor grade 30, step 5); and
(b) 24 child protective service worker (CPSW) IV positions (labor grade 25, step 5).
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II. The sum of $1,602,216 for the biennium ending June 30, 2025, is hereby appropriated to the depart-
ment of health and human services for the purpose of funding the positions established in paragraph I. In
addition to the appropriation and notwithstanding RSA 14:30-a, the department may accept and expend
matching federal funds without prior approval of the fiscal committee of the general court. The governor is
authorized to draw a warrant for the general fund portion of said sum out of any money in the treasury not
otherwise appropriated.

12 Repeal. 2020, 26:56, relative to the prospective repeal of RSA 169-C:2-f on July 1, 2024, is repealed.
13 Effective Date.

I. Section 12 of this act shall take effect June 30, 2024.

IT. Section 11 of this act shall take effect July 1, 2024.

ITI. The remainder of this act shall take effect January 1, 2025.

Senate Judiciary
April 2, 2024
2024-1419s
05/11

Amendment to SB 461
Amend the title of the bill by replacing it with the following:

AN ACT requiring health care providers to report certain information about abortions performed to their
medical facility, and requiring those medical facilities to report the information to the department
of health and human services.

Amend the bill by replacing section 1 with the following:

1 Health Care Provider Reporting of Abortion Performed. RSA 329:49 is repealed and reenacted to read as
follows:

329:49 Reporting.

I. Nothing in paragraph II of this section shall be construed as requiring the communication or disclosure
of personally identifiable health care information to the department.

II. Any health care provider who performs an abortion as defined in RSA 329:43, I, shall report the fol-
lowing information in writing to the medical facility in which the abortion is performed:

(a) Date and place of the abortion performed,;

(b) Age of the pregnant patient;

(c) State of residence of pregnant patient;

(d) Method used to perform the abortion;

(e) Gestational age when the abortion was performed; and

(f) Any prescriptions written for the purpose of inducing abortion.

ITI. The medical facility shall report the information disclosed pursuant to paragraph II at least annu-
ally, or as required by the commissioner, to the department of health and human services. The commissioner
shall prepare from these data such statistical tables with respect to maternal health, abortion procedures,
and gestational age, as the commissioner deems useful and shall make an annual report thereof to the
general court.

2024-1419s
AMENDED ANALYSIS

This bill requires health care providers to report certain information about abortions performed to their
medical facility, and requiring those medical facilities to report the information to the department of health
and human services for statistical purposes.
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Senate Finance
April 9, 2024
2024-1466s
09/05

Amendment to SB 463-FN
Amend the bill by replacing all after section 3 with the following:

4 Department of Health and Human Services; Division for Children, Youth and Families; Classified Posi-
tions Established; Appropriation.

I. The following classified positions are established in the department of health and human services to
support the department’s division for children, youth and families, bureau of field services and legal services,
in completing new responsibilities as a result of statute changes:

(a) Five staff attorney II positions (labor grade 30, step 5); and
(b) Fourteen child protective service worker (CPSW) IV positions (labor grade 25, step 5).

II. The sum of $508,725 for the biennium ending June 30, 2025, is hereby appropriated to the department
of health and human services for the purpose of funding the positions established in paragraph I. In addition to
the appropriation and notwithstanding RSA 14:30-a, the department may accept and expend matching federal
funds without prior approval of the fiscal committee of the general court. The governor is authorized to draw a
warrant for the general fund portion of said sum out of any money in the treasury not otherwise appropriated.

5 Effective Date.
I. Section 4 of this act shall take effect July 1, 2024.
II. The remainder of this act shall take effect January 1, 2025.

2024-1466s
AMENDED ANALYSIS

This bill makes various changes regarding the appointment of counsel for children, including providing
a right to an attorney in certain situations. This bill further establishes new classified positions within the
department of health and human services and makes an appropriation to the department.

Senate Finance
April 3, 2024
2024-1420s
05/08

Amendment to SB 495-FN
Amend the bill by replacing all after the enacting clause with the following:
1 New Hampshire Substance Use Disorder Services System. Amend RSA 172:1, IX-a to read as follows:
IX-a. “Client” means a person who voluntarily seeks substance abuse treatment [as-provided-by-the-of-

2 New Hampshire Substance Use Disorder Services System. Amend RSA 172:1, XXIV to read as follows:

XXIV “Certlﬁed substance abuse treatment facility” means a facility [funded-in—part-orin-whole-by-the
and] certified or licensed by the department of health and

human services under rules adopted pursuant to RSA 541-A.

3 New Hampshire Substance Use Disorder Services System. Amend RSA 172:2-a to read as follows:
172:2-a State Substance Use Disorder Services System Established.

I. The commissioner shall provide for the scientific care, treatment, and rehabilitation of individuals with
substance use disorders and their families, and work towards the prevention of, and assist in the control of,
alcohol and drug misuse within the state through education, treatment, community organization, and research.
The department shall establish, maintain, implement, and coordinate a system of substance use disorder treat-
ment services under th1s chapter ThlS system shall be superv1sed by the comm1ss10ner [Wi-t-h—the—except—mn
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program or facility which provides, or which may be established to provide, services to persons with substance
use disorders or may enter into a contract with any individual, partnership, association, public or private, for
profit or nonprofit, agency or corporation for the operation and administration of any such program or facility.

I1. Subject to available funding, the commissioner shall establish, pursuant to rules adopted
under RSA 541-A, a certification process for substance use treatment programs and facilities oper-
ating in the state of New Hampshire. Programs and facilities required to be certified shall include,
but not be limited to those providing early intervention treatment, outpatient treatment, intensive
outpatient and partial hospitalization treatment, residential treatment, and medically managed
intensive treatment. Independent providers, facilities licensed under RSA 151, the programs and
facilities in the system of mental health services established by RSA 135-C:3, and other providers
identified by the commissioner shall be exempt from certification.

III. The commissioner shall adopt rules under RSA 541-A, relative to:

(a) Certification procedures, requirements, and exemptions for substance use treatment
programs and facilities.

(b) Certification and renewal fees.

(c) The scope and content of training requirements for substance use treatment programs
and providers.

(d) The scope and content of education materials for providers and clients to understand
complaint procedures.

(e) Public access to findings of investigatory and monitoring reports, and final decisions
made relative to certification.

IV. All fees received from certification under this section shall be kept in a nonlapsing fund
known as the substance use treatment certification fund, which shall be kept separate and dis-
tinct from all other funds. The fund shall be continually appropriated to the department of health
and human services to fund to the certification process for substance use treatment programs and
facilities operating in the state of New Hampshire. The commissioner may accept gifts, grants,
donations, or other funding from any source and shall deposit all such revenue received into the
fund. The state treasurer shall invest the moneys deposited in the fund as provided by law. Interest
earned on moneys deposited in the fund shall be deposited into the fund.

V. The department shall maintain and regularly update on its website a publicly available
listing of all programs and facilities certified under this chapter.

4 New Subparagraph; Dedicated Funds; Substance Use Treatment Certification Fund. Amend RSA 6:12,
I(b) by inserting after subparagraph (394) the following new subparagraph:

(395) Moneys deposited in the substance use treatment certification fund under RSA 172:2-a.
5 New Hampshire Substance Use Disorder Services System. Amend RSA 172:2-c to read as follows:
172:2-¢c Community Substance Use Disorder Treatment Programs.

I. Any city, county, town, or any individual, partnership, association, public or private, for profit or non-
profit, agency or corporation may establish and administer a community substance use disorder treatment
program for the purpose of providing substance use disorder treatment services to individuals, families, and
organizations in the area. Every program shall, at a minimum, provide substance use disorder screening and
evaluation, case management, and outpatient counseling services. The department may contract with a com-
munity substance use disorder treatment program, pursuant to RSA 172:2-a, for the operation and adminis-
tration of any services that are part of the state substance use disorder treatment system. In the event that
the commissioner decides to enter into a contract for the operation and administration of any services which
are part of the state substance use disorder treatment system, the contract shall contain standards designed
to measure the performance of the contractor in achieving positive consumer outcomes, maintaining fiscal
integrity, and providing quality services. The commissioner shall adopt rules, pursuant to RSA 172:8-b, to
establish criteria for designating substance use disorder treatment programs under this chapter.

II. No person may establish, maintain, operate, or conduct any program or facility for substance
use treatment without any certification required by the department under RSA 172:2-a.
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III. Every facility or program certified under RSA 172:2-a shall pay a certification fee to the
commissioner for deposit in the fund established under RSA 172:2-a.

6 Department of Health and Human Services, Department Established; Office of the Ombudsman. Amend
RSA 126-A:4, III to read as follows:

ITI. The department shall establish an office of the ombudsman to provide assistance to clients of the
department by investigating and resolving complaints regarding any matter within the jurisdiction of the
department including services or assistance provided by the department or its contractors. The ombudsman’s
office may provide mediation or other means for informally resolving complaints. The records of the ombuds-
man’s office shall be confidential and shall not be disclosed without the consent of the client on whose behalf
the complaint is made, except as may be necessary to assist the service provider to resolve the complaint, or
as required by law. Subject to available funding, the department shall designate within the office
of the ombudsman a person as the behavioral health specialist dedicated solely to investigate and
resolve complaints to promote the health, safety, welfare, or civil or human rights of any person
receiving the treatment or services of a substance use or mental health treatment facility.

7 Repeal. The following are repealed:
I. RSA 172:1, XXV, relative to the definition of certified alcohol and drug abuse counselor.
IT. RSA 171:2, XXIX, relative to the definition of designated drug counselor.
8 Effective Date. This act shall take effect upon its passage.
2024-1420s
AMENDED ANALYSIS

This bill provides for certification of substance use treatment programs by the department of health and human
services. The bill also directs the department to establish within the office of the ombudsman, a behavioral health
specialist dedicated to complaint investigations regarding substance use and mental health treatment programs.

Senate Finance
April 9, 2024
2024-1462s
05/02

Amendment to SB 539-FN-A-LOCAL
Amend the bill by replacing all after the enacting clause with the following:

1 New Section; Department of Environmental Services; Dams; Transfer Procedures. Amend RSA 482 by
inserting after section 51 the following new section:

482:51-a Dams; Transfer to Municipality or Association.
I. In this section “state-owned dam” means any dam owned exclusively by the department.

II. At least one year prior to removing any state-owned dam, the department shall offer to transfer
ownership of the dam and associated property to the municipality in which the dam and impoundment cre-
ated by it are located. Upon notice by the department, the governing body shall cause the legislative body to
answer the question of whether the legislative body wants to accept the transfer of ownership of the dam. At
the same meeting, the legislative body shall consider the issuance of any long term debt necessary to effectu-
ate the transfer and address any deficiencies. If the legislative body votes to accept the transfer, but denies
issuance of the debt, the department shall consider that to be a rejection of the offer. Upon rejection of the
offer by the municipality, the department shall offer to transfer ownership of the dam and impoundment
created by it to any association of landowners or any interested parties, registered as a public entity in good
standing and capable of assessing local property taxes or issuing debt which have an interest in perpetuating
the dam and its impoundment. Those interested parties shall have 90 days to consider whether to accept the
transfer of ownership. After those 90 days have elapsed with no accepted offers for a transfer of ownership,
the department may proceed with removal of the dam.

ITI. The procedure in paragraph II shall not apply if, upon receipt of information reasonably believed to
be valid, the commissioner of environmental services believes the dam to be in imminent danger of failure
and a threat to the lives and property downstream, or unless there is a compelling environmental interest
in removal.
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IV. When offering a transfer of a dam under paragraph II, the department shall provide to the offerees
any existing documentation regarding the dams condition, a good faith estimate of costs of necessary repairs,
a list of ongoing maintenance, inspection, or licensing needed, and all other relevant information regarding
the costs of taking ownership of the dam with associated property.

V. The department shall develop by administrative rules under RSA 541-A a process by which municipali-
ties, or other interested parties who are capable of assessing local property taxes or issuing debt, may apply
for a loan necessary for the maintenance, repair, removal, or improvement of their non-state-owned dams.
Loans shall be funded by moneys in the dam maintenance revolving loan fund established in RSA 482:55-b.

2 New Section; Dam Maintenance Revolving Loan Fund Established. Amend RSA 482 by inserting after
section 55-a the following new section:

482:55-b Dam Maintenance Revolving Loan Fund Established.

I. There is established a dam maintenance revolving loan fund to provide loans to fund the maintenance,
repair, removal, or improvement of any municipally owned dam or dam owned by other interested parties
who are capable of assessing local property taxes or issuing debt, when such maintenance, repair, removal,
or improvement is required under this chapter. This fund shall be nonlapsing and shall be continually ap-
propriated to the department for the purposes of RSA 482:51-a. No loans shall be made from this fund until
the fund has accrued a balance of at least $2,500,000

I1. Loans made from the fund shall be issued at the discretion of the department of environmental services.

ITI. A sum equal to up to 5 percent or not more than $200,000 of the balance of the fund each year shall
be set aside to pay the department costs of administering the fund. The funds set aside shall be deposited
into the dam maintenance fund and shall be continually appropriated to the department exclusively for the
purposes of this section and RSA 482:51-a.

IV. The department shall adopt rules for the revolving loan fund including the interest rate charged on
loans and oversight of the administration of the fund. In providing loans, the department shall evaluate the
risk posed by the dam, the public benefit of the dam, the private benefit of the dam to lakefront owners, the
ecological impacts of the dam, the potential for contributions to needed maintenance, repair, or reconstruc-
tion, the financial resources of the applicant, and the relative cost of maintaining, repairing, or improving
the dam as compared to removing or breaching the dam.

V. Sources of revenue that may be accepted and deposited into the dam maintenance revolving loan fund
include:

(a) Any funds that may be appropriated from the general fund;
(b) Principal and interest received from the repayment of loans made from the fund;

(¢) Grants and awards made to the state by the federal government for the purpose for which the fund
was established;

(d) Interest earned from the investment of fund balances;

(e) Private gifts, bequests, and donations made to the state for the purpose for which the fund was
established; and

(f) Any other funds from any public or private source intended to be used for the purpose for which
the fund was established.

3 New Subparagraph; Dam Maintenance Revolving Loan Fund. Amend RSA 6:12, I(b) by inserting after
subparagraph (394) the following new subparagraph:

(395) Moneys deposited in the dam maintenance revolving loan fund established in RSA 482:55-b.

4 Appropriation; Department of Environmental Services; Dam Maintenance Revolving Loan Fund. The
sum of $1 is appropriated to the department of environmental services for deposit in the dam maintenance
revolving loan fund established in RSA 482:55-b, for the purpose of providing loans under RSA 482:51-a.
The governor is authorized to draw a warrant for said sum out of any money in the treasury not otherwise
appropriated.

5 Effective Date. This act shall take effect July 1, 2024.



31

2024-1462s
AMENDED ANALYSIS

This bill establishes a procedure for the department of environmental services to transfer ownership of a dam
and associated property to the municipality in which the dam is located, or to other associations or parties, and
includes the authority of the department to make loans from a dam maintenance revolving loan fund.

Health and Human Services
March 27, 2024

2024-1359s

12/02

Amendment to SB 558-FN
Amend the title of the bill by replacing it with the following:
AN ACT establishing a committee to study commercial insurance coverage of fertility treatments and em-
ployee protections while receiving fertility treatments.
Amend the bill by replacing all after the enacting clause with the following:

1 Committee Established. There is established a committee to study commercial insurance coverage of
fertility treatments and employee protections while receiving fertility treatments.

2 Membership and Compensation.
I. The members of the committee shall be as follows:
(a) One member of the senate, appointed by the president of the senate.

(b) Two members of the house of representatives, appointed by the speaker of the house of representa-
tives, one of whom shall serve on the health, human services, and elderly affairs committee and one of whom
shall serve on the labor, industrial, and rehabilitative services committee.

I1. Members of the committee shall receive mileage at the legislative rate when attending to the duties
of the committee.

3 Duties. The committee shall study commercial insurance coverage of fertility treatments, including for
same-sex couples, and employee protections while receiving fertility treatments.

4 Chairperson; Quorum. The members of the study committee shall elect a chairperson from among the
members. The first meeting of the committee shall be called by the senate member. The first meeting of the
committee shall be held within 45 days of the effective date of this section. Two members of the committee
shall constitute a quorum.

5 Report. The committee shall report its findings and any recommendations for proposed legislation to the
president of the senate, the speaker of the house of representatives, the senate clerk, the house clerk, the
governor, and the state library on or before November 1, 2024.

6 Effective Date. This act shall take effect upon its passage.
2024-1359s
AMENDED ANALYSIS

This bill establishes a committee to study commercial insurance coverage of fertility treatments and em-
ployee protections while receiving fertility treatments.

Senate Finance
April 9, 2024
2024-1468s
05/06

Amendment to SB 596-FN

Amend the introductory paragraph of RSA 167:83, II(r) as inserted by section 1 of the bill by replacing it
with the following:

(r) The development and administration of the child care scholarship program as a component of the
Child Care Development Block Grant. The department may suspend implementation of this subparagraph if
the department lacks sufficient appropriation for implementation. Such rules shall:
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Amend the bill by replacing section 2 with the following:

2 Appropriation. The sum of $375,000 for the biennium ending June 30, 2025 is appropriated to the de-
partment of health and human services for the purpose of adopting rules and administering the child care
scholarship program in accordance with the criteria specified in section 1 of this act. Of this amount, the
governor shall determine if any remaining discretionary funds appropriated in the American Rescue Plan
Act of 2021, Public Law 117-2, or any other federal funds can be used for this purpose and any remainder,
not to exceed $1, shall be general funds. The governor is authorized to draw a warrant for the general fund
share of said sum out of any money in the treasury not otherwise appropriated.

2024-1468s
AMENDED ANALYSIS
This bill directs the department of health and human services to adopt rules relative to the definition of
disability or special needs for purposes of the child care scholarship program and authorizes the department

to suspend implementation for insufficient funding. The bill also makes an appropriation of available federal
funds to the child care scholarship program.

Health and Human Services
April 3, 2024

2024-1428s

09/05

Amendment to HB 322
Amend the title of the bill by replacing it with the following:

AN ACT relative to establishing a committee to study the New Hampshire board of medicine and making
an appropriation to the department of health and human services.

Amend the bill by replacing all after section 5 with the following:

6 Department of Health and Human Services; Certain Licensed Nursing Facilities; Appropriation. Any li-
censed nursing facilities serving individuals covered by Medicaid with a change in ownership effective in state
fiscal year 2023, whose daily Medicaid rate has remained below the state average nursing facility daily rate
as calculated by the department of health and human services for the period from July 1, 2022, through the
January 1, 2024, rate change shall be eligible for a one-time general fund payment from a pro rata share of a
funding pool. Therefore, for the biennium ending June 30, 2025, the sum of $750,000 is hereby appropriated
to the department of health and human services for the purposes of this section. The governor is authorized
to draw a warrant for said sum out of any money in the treasury not otherwise appropriated.

7 Effective Date.
I. Section 6 of this act shall take effect July 1, 2024.
I1. The remainder of this act shall take effect upon its passage.

2024-1428s
AMENDED ANALYSIS

This bill establishes a committee to study the New Hampshire board of medicine. This bill further makes an
appropriation to the department of health and human services relative to certain licensed nursing facilities.



